Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme are those countries of Africa, Asia and Australia having economic and social ties with the United Kingdom. These ties have evolved from mere economic and political relationships into actual humanitarian and educational interventions one of which is the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme

Brief description: 

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are for candidates from least developed and lower-middle-income Commonwealth countries, for full-time Master’s study on selected courses, jointly supported by UK universities. The scholarships do not cover undergraduate courses, PhD study, or any pre-sessional English language teaching.

Host Institutions:

Check out the host institutions under the Commonwealth Scholarship

Participating UK Universities

Level/Field(s) of Study:

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme

See the list of eligible courses for 2022. These scholarships are offered under six themes:

  • • Access, inclusion and opportunity
  • • Promoting global prosperity
  • • Science and technology for development
  • • Strengthening global peace, security and governance
  • • Strengthening health systems and capacity
  • • Strengthening resilience and response to crises

Number of Scholarships:

Not specified.

Target group:

The scholarships are open to nationals of least developed and lower-middle-income Commonwealth countries:

Bangladesh, Cameroon, Eswatini, The Gambia, Ghana, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia.

Scholarship value/inclusions/duration:

Each Scholarship provides approved tuition and examination fees, approved airfare from your home country to the UK and return at the end of your award, stipend at the rate of £1,133 per month, or £1,390 per month for those studying at universities in the London metropolitan area (rates quoted at 2021-2022 levels), warm clothing allowance, thesis grant, study travel grant, and excess baggage allowance, etc.

READ ALSO:   Manchester City football academy scholarship

The scholarships are usually tenable for one year only.


To apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship, candidates must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
    • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
    • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2022
    • By September 2022, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a lower second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)
    • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a developed country
    • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship
    • Have provided all supporting documentation in the required format.


You should apply to study an eligible Master’s course at a UK university that is participating in the Shared Scholarship scheme. Once you secure admission to your course then you can apply for a Shared Scholarship.

You must check with your chosen university for their specific advice on when to apply, admission requirements, and rules for applying.


Leave a Comment